Writing About My Father, Day 28

Paulette Beete, Writer

I do not know what to write on this last day. Despite 28 days of writing about my father, despite nearly 44 years of having him as my father, I’m still not sure what the story is. What I want from him are words of love and apology. What I want to give to him are words of love and apology. It should be a simple transaction, but I do not yet see the story where that is how it ends. I do not think all can be forgiven, if in forgiving, you expect some sort of forgetting. If I forget the ways in which my father has wounded me, then I fear I will also forget him entirely. It doesn’t seem possible to remember afternoons spent around the kitchen table talking about how he will put up nets to keep the birds from the cherry trees some day, without…

View original post 150 more words

Leave a Reply

